Skip to content

Whah…whaaaaah

September 2, 2009

My stress level has peaked this week.  I am starting new, very intense, classes and work has been bat-shat bonkers.  My initial plan was to have a couple drinks to sooth my nerves but that turned into the predictable me telling boring, pointless and endless “Jade Stories” (other people doing this are also accused of telling “Jade Stories” it could also be known as “Pulling a Jade”), getting mean i.e. calling a guy I didn’t like a pencil eraser (you can guess the context) and histerically laughing when someone called my arch nemesis, and my only nemesis really, “Mr. Burns in a Bikini.” Then stumbling to bed to tell my husband I was “warm for his form,” it worked, but not something I am going to write the parents about.

My 2nd move it whenever I get stresses I run in the kitchen, whip open the fridge and POUND semi-sweet morsels.  Sometimes if I have a case of the sads I will fill a spoon with peanut butter and then dip it in morsels, but this is all pretty counter-productive.

My 3rd impulse, if I had time, would be to shop.  Way back to this weekend before the bat-shat hit the fan I ordered a dress from ModCloth for “The List,” it was the closest thing they had to the Layer Cake Dress which I would touch a band-aid for (I cannot BELIEVE I just wrote that without a productive heave). After ordering the dress I saw that it was rated something like 1 out of 5 stars.  Doodle-nuggets.  I was still excited to get it, when I did it was not as bad as the reviews made it out to be, though it is still going back.

with pics like this, it's no wonder no one reads my blog!

with pics like this, it's no wonder no one reads my blog!

Ok so clearly this is not the best pic, but I need blog fodder and by 10 pm last night I was not about to put on make-up, brush my hair, go outside or change out of my black bra. Again this garment is almost perfect, but it had flaws; according to my new rules I can’t keep it. Ok dress: Earmuffs! Like the reviews on ModCloth stated the waist band it too big and therefore does not cinch in the waist enough.  I also have a problem with too loose clothing and extra fabric, which this has a lot of.  I have curves, but am not curvy, if that makes any sort of sense (is this post turning into a Jade Story?).  I am also not stick thin, so I guess the dress can remove his earmuffs because it’s not really his fault.  The dress is just not suited for my body, if it were tighter on around the top/chest/waist he would have been a keeper but instead it makes me look about 20 lbs heavier, and I’m not going down like that.

And the List goes on…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 12:06 pm

    Hi jadeylangley,
    I am sorry to hear that our dress did not work for you! I also loved the Layer Cake Dress! Did you happen to see our, Spot On Dress, its not exactly like the Layer Cake Dress, but its similar.
    http://www.modcloth.com/store/ModCloth/Womens/Dresses/Solid/Spot+On+Dress+
    Hope this helps!
    ❤ Aire
    ModCloth.com

    • jadeylangley permalink*
      September 3, 2009 1:48 pm

      I think it is very cute for the price, but just not for me, I did see the “Spot On” Dress, but I think I am going to send this dress back and order the “Frosting on Top” and the “Parker Dress.” I think the “Parker Dress,” though a little different than what I was looking for would suit my body perfectly (as long as I have spanx!) and is a perfect summer to fall piece!

      • September 3, 2009 2:11 pm

        Those are both very cute! I see you like our dresses with waist definition! I’m the same way. Its a little bit more formal, but, our Grecian Green Dress is also very cute! Good luck with the new items! Thanks for your support!

Leave a Reply

