Skip to content

It’s Up! Yeah!

October 15, 2009

My Guest Blog went live!  Yeah! I will also be a featured trendsetter for the next couple of weeks.  I had to cut the post down to 300 words for Shop It To Me; below is the extended post..with a few new pics to spice it up…enjoy!

Best of Fall Trends Under $100…well Almost

If you are reading this blog chances are you love fashion and you LOVE a good deal.  Below are my favorite fall trends and pieces I actually own, well most of them; I am still on a tight budget ladies!  These pieces can update your wardrobe or you can mix and match nearly all these pieces together for a fun, funky and eclectic look.

Florals

With all the black, leather and hard lines of fall (that I love) a sweet feminine floral is a great way to girlie even the edgiest outfit.  My favorite picks are from Victoriassecret.com.  I say picks because they have an endless amount of beautiful, lux, floral blouses with the most adorable details all around $50, and most on sale!

image via victoriassecret.com

image via victoriassecret.com

Throw this on with a pair of skinny trousers, a pencil skirt or boyfriend jeans and top if off with one of falls trendy blazers, bombers or trenches.  If Vicky’s doesn’t have what you are looking for checkout ModCloth.com for everything floral, from accessories to dresses.

Boyfriend Blazers

Finding the right boyfriend blazer has been the bane of my existence since summer, and probably of the shop girls in the area that have had to repeatedly listen to the boyfriend blazer being the bane of my existence.  For my body, not a stick, not that curvy it was hard to find one that was flattering an affordable.  Lucky for you, and everyone else that has been listening to me for months, I found a few to choose from.

image via chicisimo.com

image via chicisimo.com

image via lookbook.nu

image via lookbook.nu

The blazer above is from Zara and costs just under $80.  It is slimmer fitting that most boyfriend blazers I have tried on this fall and looks a lot more polished.  For the price the quality is great.   When they first came out I found anything affordable was cut weird and cheap fabric.

Do you want to save even more?  Check your local Marshall’s, T.J. Maxx and of course Shop It To Me for deals.  I had all intentions of buying the blazer above until bad weather derailed my out of town shopping trip and I ended up at our local Marshall’s.  I praised the heavens when I found two great blazers.  The first blazer, a grey Calvin Klein for $50 (it was just a regular blazer but I sized up for that “boyfriend” fit we are all craving), the other Express for a crazy $12.99.  I got two blazers for under $70.

Black Denim

If you have not tried the Gap’s new Premium Denim line you are a crazy person.  I cannot say enough for the fit and quality of these jeans.  They lift tooshies anywhere from flat to curvy and the rigid denim doesn’t need stretch because of the great cut.

image via gap.com

image via gap.com

These jeans are my absolute favorite.  I have been trying on skinny-black-ankle jeans for about a month now and these were far and away the best fit-regardless of the price.  They range in price from $60-70 and are well worth it.

Mii playin' Wii in my Gap Jeans

Mii playin' Wii in my Gap Jeans

Bib Necklace

Talk about a quick way to update a look.  Throw one of these on with a tee, jeans and heels and you are ready for date night.  There are so many great options to choose from in a lot of price ranges.  Below is my favorite from Anthropologie.

940132_027_b

This necklace is on the pricier (is that a word?) range of $100, coming in around $80 and may be more than you want to spend on a trendy accessory.  Check out sites and store like lulus.com, Forever21, Etsy and J Crew for more options.

Oxfords

I know they look scary but I beg you to try them.  Dress up a casual outfit you would normally wear with sneakers or look simply precious pairing these with your favorite fall dress.

image via zappos.com

image via zappos.com

Like the boyfriend blazer I took a lot of research for me to find the perfect pair.  Like many of you I have to think about my purchases and really try to only buy the perfect items and stick to a budget.  These oxfords by Steve Madden still have a feminine shape and the patent leather gives them an updated look.  I cannot tell you how many awkward shaped oxfords and wing tips I tried on before I found these perfect ladies.  It’s my modern day Cinderella tale.

What I would Splurge on This Fall

I tired to keep everything under $100 but if you find $500 laying around and you just need a fantastic bag Marc by Marc Jacobs has captured the feel of fall fashion in this amazing cross-body “Sasha Bagthat I can’t stop obsessing over.

image via shopbop.com

image via shopbop.com

Love the style but can’t afford it?  Try Urban Outfitters for similar styles are much lower prices.

More Tips!

Look for great fall boots at local retail stores, there are too many to choose from at great prices, my favorites all seem to be from Baker’s.

Blowfish Boot $99 image via bakers.com

Blowfish Boot $99 image via bakers.com

Check you local vintage or consignment store.  Why spend designer prices on “Boyfriend” or “Husband” Jeans when you can get just buy men’s jeans for $7.  This goes for blazers and great accessories.  Can’t get that “vintage” smell out?  Spray them with cheap vodka, air them outside and throw them in the wash.

Don’t be afraid to try something new.  Fashion is supposed to be fun, even if you are scarred from trying on denim leggings.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 17, 2009 5:40 am

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

Leave a Reply

