Skip to content

Heaven Gains a Style Icon, We loose our Nana

January 16, 2010

My beautiful Grandmother passed away last night.  I have never met someone who commanded a room like her.  Not only was she the matriarch of our family but for our city as well.  Whenever I met someone who knew her, or of her, they always had a story, whether it be her infamous “High Kicks,” her amazing children (she has 10!) or her timeless good looks.

Jean Palazola March 14, 1929-January 15, 2010

These past couple of weeks have been hard, but really such a blessing.  I have stories to share with my daughter and the incoming generation, with 7 great grandkids and 4 on the way.  Her spirit was amazing up through her last good day, with one of her last requests being a couple sips of a Margarita, though when she finished she said, “Now I’d like to try a Sombrero.”

I having nothing to wear to the services.  I have put off shopping for it and think blogging about it will be a nice release.  I think there are other people out there with no idea how to dress appropriately for such occasion.  Do I wear black?  She wanted it to be a celebration!  Pants, skirt, dress, formal?

I can tell you one thing.  I better show up with a nice manicure.  She will be watching down on me, and my fingertips better not be chewed off!

I love you Nana.  I am glad your spirit is free. I will miss you and remember you always.

-Jadey

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 4:30 pm

    I am so sorry. She’s beautiful. Sounds like quite a spunky gal. I’m hoping all the best for you and your family.

  2. January 17, 2010 3:26 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. Sounds like your grandma was a wonderful woman and will be greatly missed. My grandma was very much the same, and it was a really rough time for me and my family when she passed away. My thoughts go out to you and your family…may memories comfort you during this time.

  3. January 17, 2010 3:55 pm

    I am so sorry. Your Nana sounds amazing, and she looked amazing too – I can’t believe she had 10 kids!. I’m sure she will be terribly missed – but she seems like someone whose life really deserves a celebration. Sending hugs your way, you are in my thoughts.

  4. Anne permalink
    January 20, 2010 1:42 pm

    I am just catching up on your blog and wanted to let you know I’m sorry to hear about your grandmother. I hope your family is doing okay…sounds like she was a great lady.

    • jadeylangley permalink*
      January 20, 2010 1:44 pm

      Thanks Anne, we are doing well, I feel like she’s with us, though I am going to miss her.

Leave a Reply

