Skip to content

My Totally Unqualified Opinion on “Editors vs Bloggers”

February 10, 2010

Dear Editors,

Maybe you’re right.  Bloggers may not have the decernable eye that a seasoned fashion veteran has.  Personally I fancy myself a regular girl, not an expert.  If I were gifted a designer item or invited to fashion week would I get excited? Yes. Would I say it was the best thing that ever happened, ever?  You bet ya.  That, Editors, is why people read blogs.  Many blogs are fashion through the eyes of a “child.”  We are not jaded, we are enthusiastic and for many of us, fashion is whimsical and magical, not mundane.

I cannot tell you the delight I get when I read posts from my blogger or twitter friends about packing for NYFW, Chictopia 10, features in Glamour magazine and even *gasp* gifted items.  We are kids in a candy shop and that is beauty of our conent.  I feel like I could be that girl and that is why I am a blogger.  It is a break from our day to day, where most of us are full time students, have families and full time jobs.  Let’s be honest these re our alternate realities, a very small percent “make it big.”  For the rest of us it’s just our dream.

You see we have a chicken-or-the-egg situation here, Editors.  Am I running out to buy designer label because I know a blogger that got invited to their show? Hellz no.  I read the blog to live vicariously through their eyes.  Honestly I am flatters that you are giving us any recognition, that you seem intimidated.  Boo! Scared ya, didn’t I?

Long story short, fashion Editors get infinantly more perks than any one blogger will ever get.  So don’t hate, appriciate.

Love,

Jadey, CNG

Certified Non-Genius

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 2:17 pm

    Word, Jadey. This is like a network exec getting upset about a YouTube phenom like chocolate rain. It’s pointless.
    And I think it’s also safe to say what you and nearly every other blogger I read have said so many times before: People read and write fashion blogs because of the inspiration and community it creates. How can that be bad? More fashion and color and creativity in the world!
    Also: I don’t think anyone is in it JUST for the goody bag. At least not the folks I read– and in my experience, most readers are way too savvy to keep supporting someone with that superficial of a motive.
    Keep it up!

    • jadeylangley permalink*
      February 10, 2010 2:27 pm

      I totally agree. They get the goddy bags too so what’s the big deal? And what defines a “blog” because guess what? All of their magazines have blogs too.

Leave a Reply

