Skip to content

Toughen Up

March 2, 2010

It is obvious I take a “jazz up tee and jeans” approach to fashion. We have been over this, let’s move on.  I love mixing very “sweet” basic pieces with tougher ones.  I rarely go straight-up girlie.  Much rarer than going straight up martini. Zing!  These past couple of weeks have been insane.  I had finals last week and since I work in Emergency Preparedness in real life the storms in the North East have kept me very busy.  I have to say I am really for a new start this week now that everything has died down.  I am on a new monthly budget and, rumor has it, spring is coming.  I want dresses! I need dresses.  I also need to shave my legs because it’s been a long winter, kittens.

The only word I can use to describe this cardi is “precious.”  There really is not much to is but the shape, length and the sweet little eye’s-of-a-teeny-tiny-bunny buttons get me every time.  To answer your question: yes I did take cold medicine today.  Why?

I did my best good girl goes bad (I my mind anyway, I am not great at pulling off either) but I threw on polished heels, torn skinny jeans, an uneven hemmed top and of course my current favorite: my vintage silk scarf.  This scarf was a close to the register impulse buy last time I went to our local vintage shop.  I almost put it in for Mailbox Mavens, but I’ll miss her too much.

Next time I wear the tank I want to belt it low on the hips with a really boxy jacket and skinny black pants….mmmmm….maybe tomorrow?!

Cardi: J. Crew

Scarf: Vintage

Tank: Forever 21

Jeans: Gap Always Skinny

Heels: Steven Steve Madden

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 4:34 pm

    Ohhh I love this! I’m totally diggin’ that scarf! I love those jeans too… they fit you perfectly!

    • jadeylangley permalink*
      March 2, 2010 4:37 pm

      I am loving Gaps new jean line they fit me very well. I also love that scarf. I got it for $2 and keeping thinking of new ways to wear it!

  2. March 2, 2010 5:56 pm

    If you post that sweet scarf on Mailbox Mavens I get it first. DO IT.

    You look like one tough motha in this.

  3. March 2, 2010 6:38 pm

    Every spring the urge to go purchase dresses is overwhelming! So tempting…

    That tank is amazing. I miss Forever 21!

    • jadeylangley permalink*
      March 2, 2010 6:51 pm

      Thank you, I know I live in dresses once the weather warms up, one piece outfit with easy care! Yes please!

  4. March 2, 2010 9:05 pm

    I rarely go “straight up girly” either – haha, love that. T-shirts and jeans rock and you do them very well, the ripped jeans are so great – I want some! Oh and I don’t think spring is really coming.. it’s just a nasty rumor..

    • jadeylangley permalink*
      March 2, 2010 9:48 pm

      Everytime I get my hopes up about spring they come crashing down, I am trying to be positive, but Im generally not very 🙂

  5. March 3, 2010 12:44 am

    That scarf has the most amazing print and I love the distressed jeans!

  6. March 3, 2010 12:48 am

    I love that scarf!!

    • jadeylangley permalink*
      March 3, 2010 10:27 am

      I do too, it makes my heart warm!

  7. March 3, 2010 9:26 am

    I am really digging this look. I’m a fan of jazzing up tees and jeans too and this scarf really does the trick!!

    • jadeylangley permalink*
      March 3, 2010 10:27 am

      Thank you, I think sometimes jazzing up a tee and jeans take a lot of creativity!

Trackbacks

  1. And it Begins… « Lowbrow Style

Leave a Reply

