Skip to content

The Great Unveiling! How to Splurge without Spending

May 12, 2010

I know I am such a tease.  As one of my first posts ever on Lowbrow Style, I decided I was going to reward myself when I finished school.  Being married to an accountant, he likes A LOT of notice if I am going to spend any amount of money outside of my monthly budget, we do this about once a year.  I originally just wanted to buy a bonkers pair of shoes and just look at them, them I got the idea in my head that I wanted something that would get better the more I wore it.  I really wanted a nice, modern, leather jacket:

I was having a little camera trouble since it was overcast yesterday, so I wish these pictures were a little better.

Any-woo! So in my “search” we went to Nordstrom, they only had one Vince leather jacket that wasn’t my size and was $700, which I would feel too guilty spending.  I headed to Loft after seeing some coveted pieces on some of my favorite bloggers, but not really thinking they would have what I was looking for, but just to pop in.  Well they had this beauty.  Originally priced at around $250, and well worth it for the soft, buttery leather that would rival any high end brand and the cut is so unique, but it was marked down to $159, steal!  I also grabbed this AMAZING little headband near the register, also on sale.  Here is the kicker! Every thing in the store was 50% off that day, I paid $79 for this leather jacket.

We budgeted for a $500 purchase.  With the headband I spent under $90, I am so relieved because the thought was going through my mind: I shouldn’t be blowing money, I have a baby, this should be in her college fund.  I understand we all need treats to maintain our sanity, and I can spend money when I have it, when we are a little more secure.  I will certainly be heading back to Loft for future shopping, especially those sales!

Leather Jacket: Loft $79

Headband: Loft $10

Chiffon Dress/Top: H&M $40

Pants: J. Crew Minnie $79

Shoes: Steve Madden $?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne permalink
    May 12, 2010 12:08 pm

    LOVE this jacket, Jade!!!! Awesome find! You deserve it…congratulations on graduating!

  2. May 12, 2010 12:36 pm

    This is a fantastic graduation gift to yourself. I love the color. And it looks so sweet with the flowy shirt underneath. You’ll wear this to the McBride’s final bbq of the summer, when it’s a bit cooler.

  3. May 12, 2010 12:47 pm

    Wow…awesome jacket and amazing deal!! Don’t you just love those surprise discounts!? Congrats on graduating and happy belated bday, girlie!

  4. May 12, 2010 1:20 pm

    Such an adorable outfit! And man you are some sort of amazing bargain shopper!

  5. May 12, 2010 7:43 pm

    What a perfect graduation gift. I absolutely love the color and the cut and the price….BONUS!
    Great post!!

  6. May 14, 2010 1:17 am

    Amazing deal. It was totally meant to be and a wonderful gift to yourself. Congratulations on graduating.

  7. May 14, 2010 1:21 am

    Holy crap, jealous!!

    You look amazing, such a beautifully styled outfit and such a steal!

  8. May 15, 2010 3:12 pm

    Oh, man! That is awesome! I LOVE how you’re debuting it with the floaty dress and tights!

  9. May 15, 2010 4:09 pm

    Holy cow… yes, it’s 1998 again an I just said Holy cow. I thought that headband was brilliant and then it was only $10? From Loft? And the jacket is crazy good too! My bargaining heart is proud.

Leave a Reply

